Sarah Mayland

Going Off The Grid…Briefly

In Reviews on 09/02/2010 at 19:15

On Tuesday (my lone day off work), I drove to the main campus of the community college that I  attend to buy my textbooks for this semester.  On my way home, I decided to take some back roads, and boy, I’m glad I did.  I drove past a place called Stratton’s Wynnorr Farm on Rt 926 (East Street Road) in Glen Mills.

What originally caught my eye was a sign that advertised wool and yarn.  I pulled in, and read the sign more closely.  Realizing they didn’t open until 3 pm, I pulled out an headed home, deciding to come back later.  I was going to buy some wool at my LYS, but I’ve never bought yarn that comes from a sheep I can actually see, so I thought it  might  be  fun to give it a try.

I got there a little after 3 (for this trip my voice teacher accompanied me), and the place was hoppin’.  Cars filled the parking area, and people of all ages were wandering around the farmer’s market, feeling up tomatoes and whatnot.  I was really excited about this because the only farmer’s market by my house is only open Thursday-Saturday, and I always work those days.  There was a really nice selection of produce at the market: peaches, peppers, zucchini, corn, cucumbers, eggplant…etc.  They had some cheeses, jellies, mustard, some pies and breads, homemade lemonade, root beer, birch beer, pickled vegetables, and some cheese spread.  But where was the wool?

Apparently the wool was being stored in the shed, which was barricaded with boxes.  A woman brought me a sample card and said that if I could tell her which wool I wanted, she would go in and look for it  and bring it out to me.  I asked for 2 skeins of a super-bulky undyed wool and 4 skeins of a 2-ply wool that was dyed a shade of grey called “oxford heather.”  She went to look for the yarn, and I started shopping.

I got 6 ears (is that what they’re called?) of corn, some string beans, hot peppers for my stepfather, some honey for my honey (thank god that stuff lasts forever because I don’t eat it), some jalapeno cheddar cheese, and some garlic and dill cheddar cheese  (both made from raw milk).  I smelled some sweet mushroom mustard (which smelled AMAZING) but it just wasn’t in my budget. 

The lady brought the wool out…literally half of what I requested.  She could only find 1 skein of the super-bulky and 2 skeins of the gray, but that was fine because I wasn’t looking to spend a lot of money anyway.  The wool was $7 a skein.  It came in hanks, not skeins (I should have been a little more accurate), and the 2 ply was a bit  over  200 yards.  The woman said the yarn is great for felting, and I understand why.  It is scratchy as hell.  The super-bulky wasn’t too scratchy, and that has already been knit into a cowl, for which I will post a pattern soon.  The super-bulky knits up fast, and blocks BEAUTIFULLY.  The stitches looked amazing after I blocked this.  The 2 play grey yarn is waiting to be used, and I can confidently say that I will not use this for an item that can be worn.  This yarn will become a felted clutch or two.

One problem…when I was winding one of the hanks of the grey yarn into a ball, a moth flew out of the yarn.  That stuff went in the freezer so fast you can’t imagine.  I examined the yarn and it doesn’t look like it’s been eaten or anything.

Consolation?  The garlic and dill cheese was AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

