Sarah Mayland

Turning Over A New Leaf

In Knitting/Crocheting, Miscellaneous on 09/15/2010 at 15:13

So as many of  you know, I am getting married Oct. 15 (holy shit!! that’s a month from today!!).  My hubby-to-be and I  are moving into our new apartment Oct. 1, and I have to say, this is a lot more stressful than I thought it was going to be.  I just got the apartment yesterday, and that was an ordeal in and of itself because we have been looking around at apartments for a LONG time, and a lot of them have SUCKED.   We were originally looking in a town called Newtown Square, which is between his work and my work.  There we found a 1 bedroom apartment with heat/hot water included (yay!) that was $1100 ish.  It was nice, but it wasn’t carpeted, and the building was really rickety…and it just wasn’t ideal (I know…when you’re young and poor you can’t be too picky…but whatever).  So yesterday we applied for a 2-bedroom apartment down the road in Havertown, and we got it!!!!!

I LOVE this apartment.   Seriously.  There’s a lot of light that comes into the apartment.  There’s a full kitchen with a lot of counter space and a little dining area.  There’s a nice big living room, and  1 1/2 baths that look like they’ve just been redone.  And a TON of closets.  Also, there is a HUGE balcony.  And we’re allowed to put out potted plants and nice things like that.  YAY!!!!  AND the property manager is super nice.  Really.  She was SO helpful.  The thing I like best about this place though is that it really seems like it’s a nice community.  There’s a lady in the other building who started a community garden behind her building, and she’s growing peppers and pumpkins and all kinds of things.  And  they just built a swing set for the kids to play on.  A lot of the apartment complexes in the area look so industrial and sterile, but this place is nice and green and seems really full of life. 

So being young and poor, my man and I are scrounging for money to buy furniture.  We found a good discount store in Coatesville (which I will review after my experience there), so we should be able to get most of what we need right away.  My parents are  letting me take my queen-sized bed that I currently sleep in, and my mom offered to buy me some basic things I need like toilet paper and whatnot.  (What I really need is towels and sheets…but everyone needs toilet paper).  And there’s a bunch of little stuff we need to buy that adds up pretty fast.  And wedding rings, and  a marriage license, and I need to get my dress altered.  FUN!!!

That being said, I am trying to make as much as I can.  Right now, in addition to the  crazy lace mohair sweater of DOOM, I’m working on two kitchen sets.  I did one in black already, and it had 2 tea towels, 2 washcloths, and  3 hot pads (or potholders…whatever).  Now I’m doing a set in ecru and a set in a really obnoxious shade of blue.  In these sets I’m going to try to do 3 tea towels, 3 washcloths, and 2 potholders each.  So far most of the potholders are done. 

This is the first kitchen set I made

The first kitchen set was a stash-buster, and the whole set used 8 skeins (or balls) of Elsebeth Lavold Cable Cotton (which I got half price at my LYS like a million years ago).  Now I bought 8 skeins each of the lily cotton sugar and cream ($1.79 ea) in ecru and hot blue.  It might yield more stuff than this kitchen set, but I forget the yardage on the cable cotton so I’m not sure.

And actually I have most of my kitchen stuff.  I just need a canister set and some tupperware, and maybe some cooking supplies that a quick trip to Kitchen Kapers will solve in an hour.  But I got a beautiful set of stemless wine glasses at Susquehanna Glass  for $1 each.  Marvelous!!!!  I also need a wine rack.  Cause I LOVE wine.  LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

