Sarah Mayland

WIP’s, etc.

In Knitting/Crocheting on 10/04/2010 at 14:53

YAY!  I moved!  And now I’m back and ready to knit (and ready to study for mid-terms and write a history paper, and do a couple of chapters of Psychology for my online class).  But really, I’m ready to knit, and of course knitting is always the most important.  My head is BURSTING with ideas. 

I mentioned in a recent post that I am working on some tea towels, wash cloths and hot pads for my kitchen.  I did a set of black ones (seen in a previous post) using Elsebeth Lavold Cable Cotton in black.  I really like the cotton…it knit up beautifully and had great stitch definition.  BUT…it sheds.  Cotton?  Sheds?  Excuse my ignorance, but I was unaware that cotton could shed.  So those items are going through the washing machine.  The significantly cheaper Lily Cotton Sugar and Cream actually made WAY better towels (in my humble opinion).  I’m using blue lily cotton and some white as well.  Out of the blue, I have made 1 1/2 tea towels, 3 dish cloths, and 2 hot pads (or potholders…call them what you will).  I might make a third tea towel after I am done with this one.  I have 2 potholders in white and I plan to make the same number of towels and dish cloths.   The pattern for the  towels can be found here.   

this is half of a kitchen towel on my needles.

The next item on the agenda is a wrap sweater for my wedding.  My dress is FABULOUS because it is lots of layers of silk, but the one thing I don’t like is that it hangs unflatteringly on my chest and back because I’m not flat-chested and the gown is really designed for someone who is.  So I’m going to knit a wrap sweater to keep me warm and hide the way the silk hangs there.  I have the yarn (Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK).  The color is a light pink since that is the color of my shoes.  I knit the swatch last night, which is a BIG deal because I never swatch ANYTHING. ever. But I figured this is important, and the yarn wasn’t cheap, so if I’m designing my own sweater, I can’t mess it up. 

But I have some lofty plans for this sweater…I would like to re-knit it in mohair (if all turns out well) and submit to Vogue Knitting’s design contest.  Honestly, I don’t give a hoot about winning the contest, but I would like to be a finalist so that I can get one of those cool yarn baskets.  And I’ve never done a knitting contest before, so I think it would be a good experience for me. 

So what will this sweater look like?  I’m envisioning a crossover wrap that stops at my natural waist.  And it won’t actually wrap around and tie in the back, but will instead close with hidden snaps on each side.  I want the sleeves to be kind of loose and drapey, and a lace pattern trim around the edges.  And pink. I love pink.  And in mohair it will be so dreamy.  So today I study, tomorrow I knit. 

Oh and did I mention this whole thing will be done on size 5’s?

Leave a Reply

