Sarah Mayland

Quick Knitting Tip

In Knitting/Crocheting on 11/07/2010 at 17:32

Can I tell you how much I have grown to LOVE a seamless sweater?  Sure you have to cast on a bagillion stitches, but you get to knit the front AND back at the same time!  Snoogins!

There has always been something I’ve had an issue with though: no matter the pains I take to make sure my stitches don’t twist when I join the first and last stitch to knit in the round, it ALWAYS twists on me.  This has been a huge pain in the butt, since I’ve had to start things over and over again trying to fix this problem. 

But I figured out how to fix it…

PURL THE FIRST STITCH WHEN YOU JOIN!!! 

just the first stitch…then you can keep doing what you do.  If you’re doing just plain knit around and around and around, nobody’s going to notice one little purl stitch.  And if you’re doing ribbing, just do P1, K1 (or P2,K2, or whatever).  This has kept my stitches from twisting EVERY TIME!!! YAY!!

Leave a Reply

