Sarah Mayland

Deviation — My Fragrance Collection

In Perfume, Reviews on 01/12/2011 at 21:21

Anyone who has read my profile on Ravelry knows that aside from being a reasonably avid knitter and crocheter, I am a full-time student majoring in Psychology, and I work full-time at a perfume store.  I HATE working in retail (and my boss and I clash quite a bit), but working here is great because it’s not a big corporation and between customers, I can do whatever I want (i.e. study and knit). 

With anything I do, I try to read up a bit on it and learn as much as I can about what I’m doing.  I like to learn some historical tidbits and some trivia.  Aside from being exposed to a ton of new scents (whenever I test something for a customer), I’ve been reading reviews, and have gotten some great fragrances for myself.

There are a few categories into which women’s fragrances are typically sorted, some examples being oriental, floral, floriental (a mixture of floral and oriental), fruity, clean, sweet.  I tend to prefer a good floral or a rich, earthy oriental smell.  I never used to wear perfume, but now without it I don’t feel dressed, and I can actually match which fragrance I put on to how I’m feeling. 

Here is my collection thus far:

1.  Burberry
I prefer their classic fragrance, which includes notes of  peach, apricot, sandalwood, amber, cedar, and musk.  I typically veer away from the fruits, but they wear off quickly and on the skin remains a nice earthy smell.  For me this is a great fall-back fragrance.  I wear this when I don’t know what to wear, knowing that this is appropriate for any season and any occasion.  Burberry fragrances in general are long-lasting on the skin and moderately priced.  I highly recommend them.

2.  Very Valentino
I would describe this as a light floral.  There are also notes of sandalwood, amber, and musk in here, and when I wear this, I feel classy.  I usually wear this when I’m in one of two moods: either I am dressed up and going out and feel beautiful, or I think I look like crap and I want to wear this  to make me feel better.

3.  Gucci Flora
I used to really like this, and am now not as fond of it as I used to be.  It’s a light floral with a really sweet base to it, and it doesn’t have a tremendous amount of personality.  But  it smells nice and I wear it sometimes when I’m in the mood for something a little younger-smelling.

4.  Sira Des Indes by Jean Patou
This was an expensive bugger, and I had to have my boss special order it for me because whenever I ask someone in the department store for it, they have no idea what I’m talking about.  This is a love or hate fragrance, and I love it.  This, I believe, is named after an Indian dessert, and it certainly has a lot of sweet notes in it.  It develops beautifully and is really cool.  I get a lot of compliments on it.  Try to buy it discount, as the last I heard, the retail price is $158.

5.  Gaultier 2
This is one of the fragrances I have had the longest.  The smell lasts FOREVER on the skin and clothes.  Beware — there is a heavy milky note at the beginning which is weird and a little gross, but after about an hour it develops into this gorgeous, rich, spicy smell that it just so warm and comforting.  This is strictly a winter smell.

6.  Tom Ford Black Orchid
This is my most recent acquisition.  This also has a weird top note, but that wears off after about an hour and then the scent is very beautiful.  This one serves the same purpose as the Valentino, but this scent is much more substantial.  This is an investment, but a good one.  Notes in this include: Patchouli, Sandalwood, Truffle, Dark Chocolate, Ylang-Ylang, Black Currant, Bergamot, Orchid, Incense, and Vanilla.  I used to shy away from Patchouli for fear of smelling like a hippie, but I’ve acquired a fondness for it as long as it’s mixed well.

On my to-buy list:

  • Sycomore by Chanel
  • Prada
  • Givenchy Hot Couture
  • Tom Ford White Patchouli
  • Joy by Patou
  • Bois des Iles by Chanel (as soon as they release a smaller bottle)
  • Un Jardin en Mediterranee by Hermes (VERY earthy)

 

Bye for Now! ❤

Leave a Reply

